Skip to main content
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. If you agree, we'll assume you are happy for your web browser to receive all cookies from our website. See our Privacy Policy for more information on how we use cookies.
Continue
Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

CANADA Disclaimer  



Complaint Resolution Procedure Policy

 

Customer Care Dedication

 

CNA and its affiliates (“CNA”, “we”, “our,” or “us”) strive to deliver exceptional customer service at all times to our valued customers.  In Canada, CNA products and services are provided by Continental Casualty Company, and in Québec, under the name La Compagnie assurance Continental Casualty.    

 

If you have any complaints or concerns about our products, services, or conduct, we would appreciate your communicating this with us. Your issues will be dealt with professionally, fairness and promptly. Your complete satisfaction is our priority.

 

What Should I do if I Have a Complaint?

 

It is our responsibility here at CNA to ensure our customers receive prompt, fair  and proper responses to their complaints and that they are handled with the utmost care and professionalism.


If you have any concerns, inquiries, or complaints, please follow the following steps:

 

Step 1: Contact us

Your first step to have your issue resolved should be to reach out to the CNA representative (underwriter, claims professional etc.) who you have been dealing with.  By speaking with the person who is most knowledgeable of the situation a solution can usually be reached faster.  You may also want to advise your insurance broker of your concerns and they can often help in resolving issues.

 

Step 2: Speak with a Supervisor/Manager

If you are still not satisfied with the result after speaking with the CNA representative ask to have their supervisor or manager reach out to you.  They will be able to review the decision and discuss your concerns in detail.

 

Step 3: Contact the Complaints Office

If you have not been able to reach a satisfactory resolution with the CNA representative or their supervisor/manager, further, to discussing all your concerns raised and providing all information for consideration in support of those concerns, you may contact with your written complaint CNA's Complaints Office Manager. CNA's Complaints Office Manager is an employee of CNA who will conduct a thorough review of your complaint.

 

The Complaints Office Manager will:

 

  • Confirm receipt of your complaint within 3 business days. If you are a Quebec resident, your acknowledgement of receipt will indicate the file number of your complaint and will be accompanied by a written notice informing you of your rights;
  • Manage the complaints process, including referring concerns and information not previously received by CNA back to the CNA representative or their supervisor/manager;
  • Provide a date we expect to answer all of your concerns (usually within 30 (thirty) business days) and advise if that date will change due to unexpected delays;
  • Ensure you receive a response to your complaint;
  • Issue a “final position” letter upon request if your complaint cannot be resolved and, if you are a Quebec resident, will send you a letter explaining the reasons for its decision.

 

To help us handle your complaint promptly and thoroughly, please provide us with the following in writing:

 

  • Your name/corporate name and the related policy number or claim number;
  • Your e-mail and/or mailing address;
  • A phone number you can be reached at;
  • The details of your unresolved concerns;
  • What your desired outcome of the complaint is;
  • Any supporting documentation;
  • You may also include the steps you have taken to date to resolve your concerns.

 

Ways to contact the Complaints Office Manager:

 

By Email

canadacompliance@cna.com

 

By Phone

1-416-542-7300 or 1-800-268-9399     

    

By Fax

1-416-542-7310

 

By Mail

Complaints Office Manager
CNA

Continental Casualty Company (Canada Branch)

66 Wellington Street West, Suite 3700
Toronto, Ontario M5K 1J5
 

Step 4:  Review by Independent Source

If we are unable to reach a satisfactory resolution to your concerns after they have gone through our internal complaint handling process, we advise our customers to contact the General Insurance OmbudService (GIO).  GIO’s services provide consumers with an alternative solution to the courts. The primary objective is to resolve disputes efficiently and equitably by attempting to find a mutually agreeable solution in a confidential, non-confrontational, and cost-effective manner that is a benefit to all participants.


General Insurance OmbudService (GIO), Manager of Complaints
10 Milner Business Court, Suite 701
Toronto, ON M1B 3C6
Telephone: 416-299-6931 or toll-free at 1-877-225-0446
Website: www.giocanada.org

 

You can also contact the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) at:

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
427 Laurier Avenue West
6th Floor
Ottawa, ON K1R 1B9
Toll-free:1-866-461-3222
Website: www.fcac-acfc.gc.ca

 

For Québec consumers: The Autorité des marchés financiers (‘AMF’) regulates Quebec’s financial markets and provides assistance to consumers of financial products and services. If you are not satisfied with our final response to your Complaint or with our handling of your complaint, you may request at any time that your file be sent to the AMF.  A Request for the Transfer of a File form and other information about the AMF, is available on their website:  www.lautorite.qc.ca.

 

The AMF can be contacted toll-free at 1-877-525-0337.

 

The AMF’s mailing address is:

Autorité des marchés financiers

Service du traitement des plaintes et de l’assistance

800, square Victoria, 22e étage

C.P. 246, tour de la Bourse

Montréal (Québec) H4Z 1G3

 

The most recent update to this Complaint Procedure Policy was in April 2021.

 

/web/guest/cnacanada/canadadisclaimer Canada Disclaimer Z6_40KKTL4U2B9550Q1590GGE0GR4 /CNACANADA /Canada Disclaimer

Skip to main content
Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

CANADA Disclaimer  



Politique sur la procédure de règlement des plaintes

 

Engagement envers le service à la clientèle

CNA et ses sociétés affiliées (« CNA », « nous », « notre » ou « nos ») mettent un point d’honneur à offrir en tout temps un service exceptionnel à ses précieux clients.  Au Canada, les produits et services de CNA sont offerts par Continental Casualty Company et au Québec sous le nom de La Compagnie d’assurance Continental Casualty. 

 

Si vous avez des plaintes ou des préoccupations au sujet de nos produits, de nos services ou de notre conduite, nous vous saurions gré de communiquer avec nous. Vos doléances seront traitées avec professionnalisme, équité, et célérité. Votre entière satisfaction est notre priorité.

 

Que dois-je faire si j’ai une plainte à formuler?

À CNA, il nous incombe de veiller à ce que nos clients obtiennent des réponses rapides, équitables et appropriées à leurs plaintes et de traiter celles-ci avec tout le soin et le professionnalisme qu’exige la situation.


Si vous avez des préoccupations, des demandes de renseignements ou des plaintes, veuillez observer la marche à suivre décrite ci-après :

 

Étape 1 : Communiquez avec nous

Pour obtenir le règlement de votre problème, vous devez tout d’abord communiquer avec le représentant de CNA (souscripteur, spécialiste des réclamations, etc.) avec qui vous avez traité.  Il est généralement plus rapide de trouver une solution en discutant avec la personne qui connaît le mieux le dossier.  Vous pouvez également faire part de vos préoccupations à votre courtier d’assurance. Bien souvent, celui-ci est en mesure de régler le problème. 

 

Étape 2 : Adressez-vous à un superviseur/directeur

Si vous n’êtes toujours pas satisfait des résultats obtenus après avoir discuté avec le représentant de CNA, demandez à vous entretenir avec son superviseur ou directeur.  Il sera en mesure de passer en revue la décision et de discuter de vos préoccupations en détail.

 

Étape 3 : Communiquez avec l’agent des plaintes

Si vos entretiens avec le représentant de CNA et son superviseur ou directeur n’ont pas permis de régler le problème à votre satisfaction, après avoir discuté de toutes les préoccupations que vous avez soulevées et fourni tous les renseignements à l’appui de ces préoccupations, vous pouvez communiquer votre plainte par écrit à l’agent des plaintes de CNA.  L’agent des plaintes de CNA est un employé de CNA qui procédera à un examen approfondi de votre plainte écrite.

 

Nous considérons une plainte constitue l'expression d'un des trois éléments suivants, qui subsiste après avoir été considéré et traité au niveau opérationnel compétent pour rendre une décision :un reproche à l'endroit de l'entreprise; le signalement d'un préjudice potentiel ou réel qu'aurait subi ou pourrait subir un consommateur; une demande de mesure corrective.

 

L’agent des plaintes :

  • confirmera la réception de votre plainte dans un délai de trois jours ouvrables. Si vous résidez au Québec, votre accusé de réception vous indiquera le numéro de dossier de votre plainte et sera accompagné d’un avis écrit vous informant de vos droits;
  • gérera le processus de règlement de la plainte, notamment en renvoyant les préoccupations et les renseignements qui n’avaient pas encore été reçus par CNA au représentant de CNA ou à son superviseur ou directeur;
  • vous indiquera la date à laquelle il prévoit répondre à toutes vos préoccupations (habituellement dans un délai de 30 jours ouvrables) et vous préviendra si cette date doit être changée en raison de retards imprévus;
  • veillera à ce que vous obteniez une réponse à votre plainte;
  • vous enverra sur demande une lettre de décision définitive s’il n’est pas possible de régler votre plainte et si vous résidez au Québec, vous enverra une lettre expliquant les raisons de sa décision.

 

Pour nous aider à régler votre plainte avec célérité et rigueur, veuillez nous fournir par écrit les renseignements suivants :

  • Votre nom ou raison sociale ainsi que le numéro de la police ou de la réclamation pertinente;
  • Votre adresse courriel ou postale;
  • Un numéro de téléphone permettant de vous joindre;
  • Le détail de vos préoccupations non résolues;
  • Le résultat que vous souhaiteriez obtenir en règlement de la plainte;
  • Tout document justificatif;
  • Vous pouvez également indiquer les étapes que vous avez observées à ce jour pour régler vos préoccupations.

 

Pour communiquer avec l’agent des plaintes :

 

Par courriel

canadacompliance@cna.com

 

Par téléphone

1 416 542 7300 ou 1 800 268-9399  

 

Par la poste

L’agent des plaintes de CNA

Continental Casualty Company (succursale du Canada)

66 Wellington Street West, Suite 3700  Toronto (Ontario) M5K 1J5


Étape 4 :  Examen par une source indépendante

Si, à l’issue de notre processus de règlement des plaintes, nous sommes incapables de régler votre problème à votre satisfaction, nous vous conseillons de communiquer avec le Service de conciliation en assurance de dommages (SCAD).  Les services du SCAD procurent aux consommateurs une solution de rechange aux tribunaux. Le SCAD a pour objectif principal de régler les différends avec efficacité et équité en essayant de trouver une solution mutuellement acceptable d’une manière confidentielle, non conflictuelle et économique qui soit bénéfique pour tous les participants.


Service de conciliation en assurance de dommages (SCAD), Gestionnaire des plaintes
10 Milner Business Court, Suite 701
Toronto (Ontario) M1B 3C6
Téléphone : 416 299 6931 ou sans frais au 1 877 225-0446
Site Web : www.scadcanada.org/

 

Vous pouvez également communiquer avec l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) à l’adresse :

Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada
427, avenue Laurier Ouest
6e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1R 1B9
Sans frais :1 866 461-3222
Site Web : www.canada.ca/fr/agence-consommation-matiere-financiere.html

 

Pour les consommateurs du Québec : L’Autorité des marchés financiers (« AMF ») réglemente les marchés financiers du Québec et offre son assistance aux consommateurs de produits et services financiers. Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait de notre réponse finale à votre plainte ou du traitement de votre plainte, vous pouvez demander, en tout temps, que votre dossier soit transmis à l’AMF.  Vous pouvez obtenir un Formulaire de transfert de dossier à l’Autorité des marchés financiers ainsi que d’autres renseignements sur l’AMF sur son site Web à l’adresse :  www.lautorite.qc.ca

 

Vous pouvez communiquer sans frais avec l’AMF au 1 877 525-0337.

 

L’adresse postale de l’AMF est :

Autorité des marchés financiers

Service du traitement des plaintes et de l’assistance

800, Square Victoria, 22e étage

C.P. 246, Tour de la Bourse

Montréal (Québec) H4Z 1G3

 

La plus récente mise à jour de cette Politique sur la procédure de règlement des plaintes a eu lieu en Decembre 2021.

 

/web/guest/cnacanada/canadadisclaimer Canada Disclaimer Z6_40KKTL4U2B9550Q1590GGE0GR4 /CNACANADA /Canada Disclaimer