Skip to main content
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. If you agree, we'll assume you are happy for your web browser to receive all cookies from our website. See our Privacy Policy for more information on how we use cookies.
Continue
Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

CANADA Disclaimer  



August 16, 2016
 

Policy Concerning Lawyers' Conflicts of Interest and Business Conflicts  

 

Introduction

 

On occasion an lawyer who is representing or has represented CNA and/or a CNA insured is asked to represent a party that is adverse to CNA or a CNA insured. The Policy stated herein sets forth guidelines to assist both the lawyer who is confronted with such a situation and the CNA employee to whom an inquiry is made concerning such a situation. Nothing in this Policy is intended to circumvent any State ethical canons concerning conflicts of interest.  

 

Philosophy

 

CNA's concern is protection of its and its affiliated underwriting companies' confidential and privileged information. Accordingly, CNA will evaluate each conflict situation individually. There are two types of conflicts: ethical and business.

CNA seeks to minimize and avoid situations where confidential information may pass from counsel to an entity that is adverse to CNA. Prior to accepting an engagement to represent an entity, counsel has an ethical obligation to advise CNA of any situation in which confidential information may pass from counsel to an entity that is adverse to CNA. Generally, CNA will attempt to work with counsel to determine if the firm possesses confidential information and whether there is a way to create safeguards to protect CNA so that waiver of the conflict may be considered

In addition, CNA is concerned about business conflicts. A business conflict arises when a firm providing legal services to CNA knowingly pursues actions against CNA insureds. Recognizing that the definition of business conflict encompasses a broad category of situations, it is the position of CNA that an lawyer should not knowingly pursue actions on behalf of persons or entities that are adverse to interests that are insured by CNA.

CNA is contacted daily by excellent firms seeking to provide legal services. You and your firm should be cognizant of the fact that CNA has expended a great deal of time and energy in establishing a relationship with your firm. In view of the fact that CNA is sending business to your firm in lieu of other firms, you should recognize that CNA does not look favorably upon its defense counsel pursuing actions that are adverse to CNA's financial interests. If an lawyer does work for CNA, CNA believes the lawyer should not pursue actions against CNA insureds on behalf of plaintiffs. Such a situation constitutes a "business conflict," and may constitute a conflict of interest, depending on the circumstances.  

 

Recommended Procedure

 

In those instances where a potential conflict of interest or business conflict exists, the following procedures should be followed by the lawyer and the CNA employee who is informed of such a situation:

Counsel should review the CNA Entity List to determine whether any of the entities identified there is or will be involved in the matter in question. Counsel should note that CNA could be directly involved as a party or indirectly involved as an insurer of the party that Counsel is being asked to pursue or to advise about. CNA expects Counsel to conduct an appropriate investigation in either case.

An ethical conflict of interest exists if the representation of a client will be directly adverse to CNA or if there is a significant risk that the representation of one or more clients will be materially limited by the lawyer's responsibilities to CNA. A business conflict exists if the representation of a client will not be directly adverse to CNA, but will be adverse to CNA's interests or the interests of a CNA insured.

A lawyer who is considering undertaking the representation of a party that is adverse to either CNA or any of its affiliated underwriting companies or adverse to a CNA insured should inform CNA's Legal Services Group of the situation in writing. The Legal Services Group will consider the relevant facts and make a decision as to whether a conflict of interest exists and, if so, whether to waive the conflict. CNA will consider each such situation on a case-by-case basis in order to make an appropriate decision given the particular facts and circumstances. In some instances the conflict of interest may be waived with the proviso that certain precautions will be taken by the lawyer's law firm in order to protect CNA's interests. In other instances a conflict of interest may not exist, but a business conflict may exist. If a business conflict exists, CNA may wish to take action based upon that business conflict, if the firm chooses to undertake representation of the party whose interests are adverse to those of CNA. CNA will consider each such situation on a case-by-case basis in order to make an appropriate decision given the particular facts and circumstances.

To assure the continuation of a strong working relationship between CNA and its counsel, an lawyer who is considering undertaking the representation of a party that is adverse to an interest that CNA may insure should contact the Legal Services Group to inform them of this situation. If a business conflict may exist, the Legal Services Group will ask that a request for a waiver be submitted in writing. CNA will consider each such situation on a case-by-case basis, in order to make an appropriate decision, given the particular facts and circumstances.

If an lawyer discovers that he or she is representing a party who is adverse to a CNA insured, CNA requests that the firm advise the Legal Services Group of this situation, in writing. CNA will contact the firm if further information is needed in order to determine whether an ethical or business conflict exists.

 

Upon completion of a review of the facts, Legal Services will inform the lawyer of the decision that has been made, in writing, and will provide a copy of this written decision to the business units affected by the decision. If a decision has been made to waive a conflict of interest subject to the utilization of ethical walls or other protective devices, these conditions will be stated in the letter. The lawyer should then inform the Legal Services representative, in writing, whether these conditions are acceptable to the firm and confirm that the firm will take the actions required to protect the interests and confidences of CNA.

If a conflict of interest or a business conflict arises during the course of litigation, rather than at the outset, the procedures set forth above should be utilized by the lawyer in the same manner as if the conflict had arisen and been identified at the outset of the litigation.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Question:

My partner has been approached to represent a client that will be adverse to CNA in a subrogation matter. Do I need to inform CNA of this situation? Will CNA waive the conflict?

Answer:

Yes, you do need to inform CNA of the situation. You should contact Legal Services at CNA and inform them of all the relevant facts, in writing. CNA will consider the facts of the particular situation and, after conducting an appropriate review of the facts, will let you know whether the conflict will be waived and whether any conditions attach to the waiver.

Question:

I represent a plaintiff in an automobile accident case. I have just learned that CNA (or a CNA entity) insures the defendant and/or provides the underinsured coverage for the plaintiff, and I must pursue that coverage. I have never represented CNA directly, but I have represented CNA insureds. Do I need to inform CNA of this situation?

Answer:

Yes, you do need to inform CNA of the situation, even if you view it as constituting a business conflict, but not a conflict of interest. You should contact Legal Services at CNA and inform them of all the relevant facts, in writing. Legal Services will advise you if further action is necessary.

Question:

I represent a defendant in a case that CNA was not originally involved in, either directly or as an insurer. I have just learned that a newly added defendant, whose interests may be adverse to those of my client, is insured by CNA. Do I need to inform CNA of this situation?

Answer:

Yes, we do ask that you inform Legal Services of the situation. It is unlikely that CNA will take any action as a result of this situation over which you had no control.

Question:

Why would CNA consider taking action against my firm simply because of the existence of a "business conflict"?

Answer:

CNA is cognizant of the fact that removal from the Panel of Approved Firms, ceasing to send additional matters to your firm, and transferring of files are very serious matters for your firm. You and your firm should be cognizant of the fact that CNA has expended a great deal of time and energy in establishing relationships with firms. In view of the fact that CNA is sending business to your firm business in lieu of other firms, CNA will not allow its defense counsel to pursue actions adverse to its financial interest. When a firm makes a choice to accept a matter that creates a business conflict, the firm must live with the consequences of its actions.

Question:

Legal Services has refused to waive a conflict of interest and I disagree with that decision. Is there any process by which I can "appeal" this decision to a higher level?

Answer:

Yes. If you believe that the decision was not appropriate, given the facts and circumstances of the case and your relationship with CNA, you should ask that the waiver request be elevated to a higher level within CNA for review.

Question:

To whom should I initially bring my conflict waiver requests?

Answer:

If your firm primarily does work primarily for CNA's Specialty Lines, you should address your request to:

 

Irena Djukic
Director, Legal Services
Global Specialty Lines
CNA
151 N. Franklin
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 822-2397
Fax: (312) 755-7195
irena.djukic@cna.com

 

If your firm does work primarily for CNA's Commercial/Standard Lines, you should address your request to:

 

Huma Shah
Attorney, Legal Resource Coordinator
CNA Commercial/Standard Lines
CNA
151 N. Franklin
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312-822-6446
Fax: 312-755-7195
huma.shah@cna.com

 

If your firm primarily does work for CNA's Environmental and Mass Tort Claims area, you should address your request to:


Patricia A. O'Byrne
Senior Counsel—Strategic Claims and Coverage Litigation
CNA Law Department
1249 South River Road
Cranbury, NJ 08512
Phone: 609-860-2318
Fax: 609-495-8887
patricia.o'byrne@cna.com  
 

If your firm primarily does work for CNA's Construction Defect area, you should address your request to:

 

Lillian Robert
Director, Legal Services
Construction Defect Claims
CNA
P.O. Box 2469
Brea, CA 92822-2469
Phone: 714-255-2533
Fax: 714-256-7657
lillian.robert@cna.com

/web/guest/cnacanada/canadadisclaimer Canada Disclaimer Z6_40KKTL4U2B9550Q1590GGE0GR4 /CNACANADA /Canada Disclaimer

Skip to main content
Nous utilisons des témoins (« cookies ») pour vous offrir la meilleure expérience en ligne. Si vous acceptez, nous supposerons que vous êtes à l'aise que votre navigateur Web reçoive tous les témoins de notre site. Consultez notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d'information sur la façon dont nous utilisons les témoins.
Continuer
Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

CANADA Disclaimer  



Le 16 août 2016
 

Les Conflits d’Intérêts

 

Politique concernant les conflits d'intérêts ainsi que les conflits d'affairess d'avocats

 

Introduction

 


Il arrive parfois qu'un avocat qui représente ou a représenté CNA et (ou) un assuré de CNA est appelé à représenter une partie adverse à CNA ou à l'assuré de CNA. La politique ci-jointe énonce des lignes directrices visant à aider tant l'avocat confronté à une situation de ce genre que l'employé de CNA à qui l'on pose des questions au sujet d'une telle situation. Aucune disposition de cette politique n'a pour objet de contourner quelconque principe d'éthique de l'État concernant les conflits d'intérêts.
 

 

Philosophie

 


La préoccupation de CNA porte sur la protection de ses renseignements privilégiés confidentiels et de ceux de ses sociétés de souscription affiliées. Par conséquent, CNA évaluera chaque situation de conflit au cas par cas. Il existe deux types de conflits: éthiques et d'affairess.

CNA tente d'atténuer et d'éviter les situations dans lesquelles des renseignements confidentiels peuvent être transmis d'un avocat à une partie adverse à CNA. Avant d'accepter un engagement consistant à représenter une entité, l'avocat a l'obligation éthique d'aviser CNA de toute situation dans laquelle des renseignements confidentiels pourraient être transmis de l'avocat à une entité adverse à CNA. En général, CNA tentera de travailler avec l'avocat à déterminer si le cabinet possède des renseignements confidentiels et s'il existe un moyen de créer des protections pour protéger CNA pour qu'il soit possible d'envisager une dérogation de conflit. 

En outre, CNA se préoccupe aussi des conflits d'affairess. Il y a conflit d'affairess lorsqu'un cabinet qui fournit des services juridiques à CNA intente sciemment des poursuites contre des assurés de CNA. Reconnaissant que la définition de conflit d'affairess englobe une vaste catégorie de situations, CNA est d'avis qu'un avocat ne devrait pas sciemment intenter de poursuites au nom de personnes ou d'entités qui sont adverses aux intérêts assurés par CNA.

Chaque jour, d'excellents cabinets communiquent avec CNA pour lui proposer leurs services juridiques. Votre cabinet et vous devez savoir que CNA a consacré énormément de temps et d'énergie à établir une relation avec votre cabinet. Étant donné que CNA fait affaires avec votre cabinet plutôt qu'avec d'autres, vous devez reconnaitre que CNA ne voie pas d'un bon œil le fait que ses avocats de la défense intentent des poursuites adverses aux intérêts financiers de CNA. CNA croit qu'un avocat qui travaille pour elle ne devrait pas intenter de poursuites contre ses assurés au nom de plaignants. Une situation du genre constitue un « conflit d'affairess » et peut constituer un conflit d'intérêts, selon les circonstances.
 

Procédure recommandée

 


Advenant l'existence d'un conflit d'intérêts ou d'un conflit d'affairess l'avocat et l'employé de CNA qui est mis au courant de cette situation doivent suivre les procédures suivantes:

L'avocat doit prendre connaissance de la liste des entités de CNA pour déterminer si l'une des entités y figurant est ou sera partie prenante dans les poursuites en question. L'avocat doit garder en tête que CNA pourrait être concernée directement en tant que partie ou indirectement en tant qu'assureur de la partie que l'avocat doit poursuivre ou pour laquelle des conseils lui sont demandés. CNA s'attend à ce l'avocat effectue les recherches nécessaires dans les deux cas.

Il y a conflit d'intérêts éthique si la représentation d'un client est directement adverse à CNA ou s'il y a un risque majeur que la représentation d'un ou de plusieurs clients soit limitée en substance par les responsabilités de l'avocat à l'endroit de CNA. Il y a conflit d'affaires si la représentation d'un client n'est pas directement adverse à CNA, mais est adverse aux intérêts de CNA ou aux intérêts d'un assuré de CNA.

Un avocat qui envisage d'assurer la représentation d'une partie qui est adverse à CNA ou à l'une de ses sociétés de souscription affiliées, ou adverse à un assuré de CNA, doit en aviser par écrit le groupe des services juridiques de CNA. Le groupe des services juridiques de CNA étudiera les faits pertinents et rendra une décision quant à l'existence d'un conflit d'intérêts et, le cas échéant, à la dérogation du conflit. CNA abordera chacune de ces situations au cas par cas afin de prendre la bonne décision compte tenu des circonstances et des faits particuliers. Dans certains cas, la dérogation du conflit d'intérêts est possible à la condition que certaines précautions soient prises par le cabinet d'avocats de façon à protéger les intérêts de CNA. Dans d'autres cas, il se peut qu'il n'y ait pas de conflit d'intérêts, mais qu'il y ait un conflit d'affaires. S'il y a conflit d'affaires, il se peut que CNA souhaite intervenir en fonction dudit conflit, si le cabinet choisit d'assurer la représentation de la partie dont les intérêts sont adverses à ceux de CNA. CNA abordera chacune de ces situations au cas par cas afin de prendre la bonne décision compte tenu des circonstances et des faits particuliers.

Pour assurer la continuité d'une relation de travail solide entre CNA et son avocat, un avocat qui envisage d'assurer la représentation d'une partie adverse à un intérêt dont CNA peut être l'assureur devrait communiquer avec le groupe des services juridiques pour l'informer de la situation. En cas d'éventuel conflit d'affaires, le groupe des services juridiques demandera qu'une demande de dérogation soit présentée par écrit. CNA abordera chacune de ces situations au cas par cas afin de prendre la bonne décision compte tenu des faits et des circonstances particuliers.

Si un avocat découvre qu'il représente une partie qui est adverse à un assuré de CNA, CNA exige que le cabinet informe le groupe des services juridiques de la situation par écrit. CNA communiquera avec le cabinet si elle a besoin de précisions pour déterminer s'il y a conflit éthique ou d'affaires.

Après examen des faits, les services juridiques informeront par écrit l'avocat qu'une décision a été rendue et fourniront une copie de cette décision écrite aux unités d'affairess touchées par cette décision. Si une décision de dérogation d'un conflit d'intérêts est rendue sous réserve de l'utilisation de barrières éthiques ou d'autres dispositifs de protection, ces conditions seront énoncées dans la lettre. L'avocat doit ensuite communiquer par écrit avec le représentant des services juridiques pour lui indiquer si le cabinet juge ces conditions acceptables et pour confirmer que le cabinet prendra les mesures exigées pour protéger les intérêts et les renseignements confidentiels de CNA.

Si un conflit d'intérêts ou un conflit d'affaires survient au cours du litige, plutôt qu'au début, l'avocat doit suivre les procédures énoncées précédemment de la même façon que si le conflit était survenu et avait été repéré au début du litige.
 

 

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS


Question:

Mon partenaire a été approché pour représenter un client dans un cas de subrogation qui sera adverse à CNA. Ai-je besoin d'informer CNA de cette situation? CNA décidera-t-elle de la dérogation du conflit?

 

 

Réponse:

Oui, vous devez informer CNA de cette situation. Vous devriez communiquer avec les services juridiques de CNA et leur transmettre par écrit tous les faits pertinents. CNA étudiera les faits concernant cette situation et, après examen approprié, vous informera de la dérogation ou non du conflit et des éventuelles conditions à joindre à la dérogation.

 

 

Question:

Je représente un plaignant dans un cas d'accident automobile. Je viens d'apprendre que CNA (ou une entité de CNA) assure le défendeur et (ou) fournit la garantie automobiliste sous-assuré du plaignant, et je dois poursuivre pour obtenir cette garantie. Je n'ai jamais représenté CNA directement, mais j'ai déjà représenté des assurés de CNA. Ai-je besoin d'informer CNA de cette situation?

 

Réponse:

Oui, vous devez informer CNA de cette situation, même si vous la considérez comme un conflit d'affaires, mais pas un conflit d'intérêts. Vous devriez communiquer avec les services juridiques de CNA et leur transmettre par écrit tous les faits pertinents. Les services juridiques vous indiqueront s'il y a d'autres mesures que vous devrez prendre.

 

 

Question:

Je représente un défendeur dans un cas dans lequel CNA n'était pas initialement partie prenante, que ce soit directement ou en tant qu'assureur. Je viens juste d'apprendre qu'il vient de s'ajouter un nouveau défendeur, dont les intérêts pourraient être adverses à ceux de mon client, qui est assuré par CNA. Ai-je besoin d'informer CNA de cette situation?

 

Réponse:

Oui, nous vous demandons de bien vouloir informer les services juridiques de cette situation. Il est peu probable que CNA prenne des mesures quelconque à la suite de cette situation sur laquelle vous n'avez aucun pouvoir.

 

Question:

Pourquoi CNA envisagerait-elle de prendre quelque mesure contre mon cabinet simplement à cause de l'existence d'un « conflit commercial »?

 

Réponse:

CNA est conscient du fait que d'être retiré  de la liste des entreprises approuvées, la cessation d'envoi d'autres cas et/ou le transfert de dossiers sont des situations très graves pour votre cabinet. Votre cabinet et vous devez savoir que CNA a consacré énormément de temps et d'énergie à établir des relations avec des cabinets. Étant donné que CNA fait affaires avec votre cabinet plutôt qu'avec d'autres, CNA ne peut tolérer que ses avocats de la défense intentent des poursuites adverses à ses intérêts financiers. Lorsqu'un cabinet choisit d'accepter un cas qui crée un conflit d'affaires, ce cabinet doit assumer les conséquences de ses gestes.

 

Question:

Les services juridiques ont refusé la dérogation d'un conflit d'intérêts, et je ne suis pas d'accord avec cette décision. Y a-t-il un processus par lequel je pourrais faire « appel » de cette décision à un échelon supérieur?

 

Réponse:

Oui. Si vous croyez que la décision ne convient pas, compte tenu des faits et des circonstances du cas et de votre relation avec CNA, vous devriez demander que la demande de dérogation soit soumise à l'examen d'un échelon supérieur au sein de CNA.

 

Question:

À qui dois-je initialement présenter mes demandes de dérogation de conflit?

 

Réponse:

Si votre cabinet travaille principalement pour le secteur assurances spécialisées de CNA, veuillez adresser votre demande à:

Irena Djukic
directrice, services juridiques
assurances spécialisées mondiales
CNA
333 South Wabash, 39S
Chicago, IL 60604
Téléphone: 312-822-2397
Télécopieur: 312-755-7195
irena.djukic@cna.com

Si votre cabinet travaille principalement pour le secteur assurances commerciales et normales, veuillez adresser votre demande à:

Huma Shah
avocate plaidante
assurances commerciales et standard de CNA
CNA
333 South Wabash, 39S
Chicago, IL 60604
Téléphone: 312-822-6446
Télécopieur: 312-755-7195
huma.shah@cna.com

Si votre cabinet travaille principalement pour le secteur environnement et litiges délictuels de masse, veuillez adresser votre demande à:

Patricia A. O'Byrne
avocate principale, réclamations stratégiques et litiges en matière de couverture d'assurance
service du droit de CNA
1249 South River Road
Cranbury, NJ 08512
Téléphone: 609-860-2318
Télécopieur: 609-495-8887
patricia.o'byrne@cna.com

Si votre cabinet travaille principalement pour le secteur défauts de construction de CNA, veuillez adresser votre demande à:

Lillian Robert
directrice, services juridiques
réclamations pour défaut de construction
CNA
P.O. Box 2469
Brea, CA 92822-2469
Téléphone: 714-255-2533
Télécopieur: 714-256-7657
lillian.robert@cna.com

 

/web/guest/cnacanada/canadadisclaimer Canada Disclaimer Z6_40KKTL4U2B9550Q1590GGE0GR4 /CNACANADA /Canada Disclaimer